About us

Our board

Meet the CEFC Board

 Steven Skala AO

Steven Skala AO, Chair

Mr Skala has a distinguished career of service including on the boards of public, private, not-for-profit and government organisations and has more than 35 years' experience in the law, business and banking.

He is the Vice Chairman, Australia of Deutsche Bank AG, a position he has held since 2004, and is Chairman of Blue Chilli Technology Pty Limited.  A former Chairman of Film Australia Limited and Wilson Group Limited, he is also a former Director of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, the Channel Ten Group of Companies and Max Capital Group Limited.

Prior to becoming a banker, Mr Skala was for almost 20 years a senior Partner at the law firm Arnold Bloch Leibler. He has Arts and Law (Honours) degrees from University of Queensland and a Bachelor of Civil Law from University of Oxford.

Active beyond banking and commerce, he is Chairman of the Heide Museum of Modern Art, Deputy Chairman of the General Sir John Monash Foundation, a Director of The Centre for Independent Studies, a Founding Panel Member of Adara Advisors Pty Ltd and a Member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York. His other not-for-profit roles have included being Chairman of the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art, Deputy Chairman (Vice President) of the Walter & Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research and a Director of the Australian Ballet.

In 2010, Mr Skala was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for service to the arts, business and commerce, and to the community.

Mr Skala was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2017 for five years.


Paul Binsted

Paul Binsted

Mr Binsted has extensive experience in investment banking and other aspects of corporate financial advice. Mr Binsted's breadth of experience comes from his previous position as managing director and joint CEO of Lazard in Australia and senior roles with other investment banks, including Citigroup Australia.

Mr Binsted was a member of the Australian Financial Forum (Johnson Report) Panel of Experts into growing the Australian Financial Services Industry. He is also a former chairman of both the State Rail Authority of NSW and the Sydney Ports Corporation.

Mr Binsted was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 1 February 2013 for five years.


Leeanne Bond

Leeanne Bond

Ms Bond is one of Australia's leading engineers and has extensive experience in the water and energy sectors in Queensland and the Northern Territory.

She serves on the boards of Snowy Hydro, Territory Generation, Liquefied Natural Gas Limited, JKTech Pty Ltd, the Queensland Building & Construction Commission (QBCC) and Engineers Australia Ltd. She is also incoming Chair of Synertec Corporation. Ms Bond recently retired from the board of Coffey International Limited.  She has previously held board positions on a number of water and energy businesses, including Tarong Energy and the Queensland Bulk Water Supply Authority (Seqwater) and was Chair of Brisbane Water.  

Ms Bond held a variety of senior positions at Worley Parsons, including General Manager (Queensland, the Northern Territory and Papua New Guinea), where she negotiated project alliances and supervised contracts and projects with many Australian and international companies, prior to starting Breakthrough Energy Pty Ltd in 2006.  

Ms Bond was awarded Australian Professional Engineer of the Year in 2007. She is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and an honorary fellow of Engineers Australia.

Ms Bond was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2017 for five years.


 Samantha Tough

Samantha Tough

Ms Tough has had a distinguished and varied career in the energy and resources industries in Western Australia, with a 20 year career serving on boards. Ms Tough currently serves on the boards of Synergy and Saracen Mineral Holdings Limited. She is also the deputy Chair of the WA Academy of Performing Arts.

Ms Tough has previously been Chair of Retail Energy Market Company Ltd, Structerre Pty Ltd, Molopo Energy Ltd, Aerison Pty Ltd and Southern Cross Goldfields Ltd. She is also a former director of Cape plc, Strike Resources Ltd and Murchison Metals Ltd. Ms Tough's executive roles include General Manager North West Shelf at Woodside Energy Ltd; Director Strategy for Hardman Resources Ltd; Senior Vice President Natural Resources at the Commonwealth Bank and Project Director for the Pilbara Power Project.

Ms Tough completed a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Jurisprudence at the University of Western Australia and worked as a barrister and solicitor before progressing to the commercial sector. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Tough was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2017 for five years.


 Nicola Wakefield Evans

Nicola Wakefield Evans

Ms Wakefield Evans is a non-executive director of Macquarie Group Limited, Lend Lease Corporation Limited, BUPA Australia & New Zealand and the national board of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is also a member of the boards of Asialink (University of Melbourne) and the University of New South Wales Foundation. She is also a member of the Takeovers Panel.

Ms Wakefield Evans has more than 29 years' legal experience. She was a partner of King & Wood Mallesons for 20 years before retiring from the partnership in September 2013.

During her time at King & Wood Mallesons, Ms Wakefield Evans held a variety of part-time and full-time management positions, including Managing Partner, Practice and Managing Partner, International (located in the Hong Kong office) with responsibility for the development and growth of the international practice and the Hong Kong, China and London offices of King & Wood Mallesons.

Ms Wakefield Evans' key areas of industry expertise include resources and energy, infrastructure, airports, financial services, technology and media and communication.

Ms Wakefield Evans was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 7 August 2017 for five years.


Martijn Wilder AM

Martijn Wilder AM

Mr Wilder is head of Baker & McKenzie's Global Environmental Markets, Clean Energy and Climate Change practice. He is chair of the Baker & McKenzie Law for Development Initiative and a Professor of Climate Change Law at the Australian National University. In addition, Mr Wilder chairs the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) and is a director of the World Wildlife Fund (Australia) and the Climate Council.

He holds advisory roles as chair of the NSW Climate Change Council, as a governing board member of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Partnership (REEEP) and as a member of the Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists. He is also deputy chair of the Private Sector Roundtable of the Asia Pacific Rainforest Recovery Plan. Mr Wilder chaired the 2015 Independent Review Committee of the Victorian Climate Change Act, and was formerly chair of both Low Carbon Australia and TRAFFIC (Oceania).

In 2012 Mr Wilder was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in recognition for "service to environmental law, particularly in the area of climate change through contributions to the development of law, global regulation, public policy and the promotion of public debate, and to the community".

Mr Wilder holds a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) from the University of Sydney, LLB Honours from the ANU, LLM from the University of Cambridge and has studied at the Hague Academy Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations. He is also a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Wilder was appointed to the CEFC Board with effect from 1 February 2013 for five years.