Skip to main content

Statement from CEFC CEO Ian Learmonth regarding new board appointments

18 December 2017

A statement from CEFC CEO Ian Learmonth:

"The CEFC welcomes the Australian Government's appointment of three new members to the CEFC Board, effective February 2018.

"As Minister Frydenberg and Minister Cormann said in their announcement, new Board members Mr Philip Coffey, Ms Laura Reed and Ms Andrea Slattery bring additional experience and skills in finance and investment, energy markets and corporate governance skills, and add to the geographical diversity of the Board. The Joint Ministerial Media Release is available below.

"We take this opportunity to thank outgoing Board members Mr Martijn Wilder and Mr Paul Binsted, whose five year terms are coming to an end.

"The CEFC Board is central to the strength of our organisation and we benefit from the experience and skills of our Board members. We look forward to working with the new appointees. They join a refreshed board under new Chair Mr Steven Skala AO, who joined the Board in August, alongside Ms Leeanne Bond, Ms Samantha Tough and Ms Nicola Wakefield Evans."


18 December 2017

Minister for the Environment and Energy

Minister for Finance


The Government is pleased to announce Mr Philip Coffey, Ms Laura Reed and Ms Andrea Slattery will join the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC) Board from 1 February 2018.

The new appointments bring experience and skills in finance and investment, energy markets and corporate governance skills and add to the geographical diversity to the Board.

Mr Coffey brings considerable financial experience as the former Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Westpac and as a senior fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia. He has led investment decisions on debt and equity instruments and significant technology projects and is experienced in infrastructure asset management. He also brings experience in balance sheet and credit risk management and is currently on the boards of Lendlease Corp and Hastings Management Pty Ltd.

Ms Reed has over 20 years' experience in the energy infrastructure sector, including as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Spark Infrastructure and in senior roles at Envestra Limited (now part of Australian Gas Infrastructure Group). She is currently Chair of ERIC Alpha Holdings (which owns 49.6 per cent of Ausgrid) and Chair of Epic Energy Group. Her other current board positions include: Ausgrid, Canadian Utilities Limited and ATCO Australia Pty Ltd.

Ms Slattery is also experienced in financial services as the former Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Self-Managed Superannuation Fund Association. She brings over 25 years' experience in finance, superannuation, infrastructure, innovation and technology and extensive experience as a non-executive director and financial services sector adviser.

The Government would like to thank Mr Martijn Wilder AM and Mr Paul Binsted who complete their five year CEFC terms on 31 January 2018. They have provided outstanding service on the Board, particularly through the establishment phase of the CEFC. With Mr Wilder also Chair of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency, he has been instrumental in helping develop strong links between the two organisations.

The CEFC is a specialist clean energy financier, investing with commercial rigour to increase the flow of finance into renewable energy, energy efficiency and low emissions technologies.


Media release, 2017

Back to top