Skip to main content

Our Board

CEFC Board 310 1

Steven Skala AO


Mr Skala has a distinguished career of service on the boards of public, private, not-for-profit and government organisations, with more than 35 years’ experience in the law, business and banking. Mr Skala is Vice Chairman, Australia of Deutsche Bank and is a member of the Foreign Investment Review Board. He served as a partner focusing on corporate, banking and commercial law in two leading Australian law firms for more than 20 years. A former Chairman of Film Australia Ltd, Hexima Ltd, Island Food Company Ltd and Wilson Group Ltd, Mr Skala is also a former Director of the ABC, the Channel Ten Group and Max Capital Group Ltd.

Mr Skala currently Chairs the Heide Museum of Modern Art, is Deputy Chair of the General Sir John Monash Foundation, a Director of The Centre for Independent Studies and a Member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art NYC. Mr Skala was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2010 in recognition of his service to the arts, business and commerce and to the community.

Appointed 7 August 2017 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 12 (1)

Leeanne Bond

Ms Bond is one of Australia’s leading engineers, with more than 30 years’ experience in executive and professional company director roles. Ms Bond is Chair of Synertec Corporation and Mining3. She is also on the boards of Snowy Hydro, Aurecon Group and QADO Services. Ms Bond is an advisory board member for the University of Queensland Master of Sustainable Energy and the Australian National University Battery and Grid Integration Program. Ms Bond, who has also served on the boards of public, private and government entities, was named Australian Professional Engineer of the Year in 2007. She is a Chartered Professional Engineer, an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a member of Chief Executive Women.

Appointed 7 August 2017 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 13

Philip Coffey

Mr Coffey has extensive experience across the financial services sector, with a distinguished career in senior roles in banking, including funds management, balance sheet management and risk management. Mr Coffey is a non-executive Director of Macquarie Group Limited and Macquarie Bank Limited, and a non-executive Director of Lendlease Corporation Limited. Mr Coffey began his career at the Reserve Bank of Australia and held a number of executive positions at Westpac, including Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Westpac Banking Corporation and Chief Financial Officer and Group Executive, Westpac Institutional Bank. Mr Coffey is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

Appointed 1 February 2018 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 14

Laura Reed

Ms Reed has more than 20 years’ experience in the energy infrastructure sector, including as Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director of Spark Infrastructure. Ms Reed is also Chair of Epic Energy, which owns the Moomba to Adelaide gas transmission pipeline in South Australia, as well as a director of Canadian Utilities, ATCO Australia Pty Ltd and ATCO Gas Australia GP Pty Ltd. Ms Reed spent nine years at Envestra Limited (now known as Australian Gas Networks) in a number of senior financial roles, including Chief Financial Officer. Ms Reed holds an MBA from Deakin University and a Bachelor of Business (Accounting). She is a fellow of Certified Practising Accountants Australia.

Appointed 1 February 2018 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 15

Andrea Slattery

Mrs Slattery is a recognised leader in Australia’s financial services, superannuation, investment and retirement sectors, having led the transformational growth of the Self-Managed Super Fund sector as founder and former Managing Director/CEO of the SMSF Association. An experienced non-executive director, Mrs Slattery has served on boards and advisory committees in listed, commercial, government and not-for-profit sectors. Mrs Slattery is a non-executive director of AMP Limited, AMP Bank, including the Chair of the AMP Limited and AMP Bank Audit Committees, a non-executive director of Argo Global Listed Infrastructure (LIC) and the Deputy Chair of the Woomera (Prohibited) Area Advisory Board. Mrs Slattery was named Australian Woman of the Year in the Australian Women in Financial Services Awards in 2014.

Appointed 1 February 2018 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 16

Samantha Tough

Ms Tough is Chair of Horizon Power, the COAG National Energy Selection Panel and a Director of Fluence Corporation and 3D Metal Forge. She is also Pro Vice Chancellor of Industry Engagement, University of Western Australia. Ms Tough previously Chaired the Retail Energy Market Company, Structerre, Molopo Energy, Aerison and Southern Cross Goldfields. She is also a former Director of Synergy, Saracen Mineral Holdings Ltd, Cape LLC, Strike Resources Ltd, Murchison Metals Ltd, Ox Mountain, Buru Energy Ltd and VHM Ltd. Ms Tough held executive roles at Woodside Energy, Hardman Resources, Commonwealth Bank and Pilbara Power Project. She has a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Jurisprudence from the University of Western Australia and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Appointed 7 August 2017 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 17

Nicola Wakefield Evans

Ms Wakefield Evans is a non-executive Director of Macquarie Group Limited and Macquarie Bank Limited, Lendlease Corporation, Metlife Insurance, Viva Group Energy and the national board of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is a member of the Takeovers Panel, on the board of the University of NSW Foundation and a Director of the Goodes O’Loughlin Foundation. She was previously non-executive Director of Chief Executive Women, BUPA, Asialink and Asialink Business. As a partner of King & Wood Mallesons, Ms Wakefield Evans held a variety of management positions, including responsibility for the development and growth of the international practice and the Hong Kong, China and London offices. Ms Wakefield Evans’ key areas of industry expertise include resources and energy, infrastructure, airports, financial services, technology and media and communications.

Appointed 7 August 2017 for five years.

Read next Board operations Board operations
Back to top