Skip to main content

Our Board

Istock 487573291 Crop
CEFC Board 310 1

Steven Skala AO


Mr Skala has a distinguished career of service on the boards of public, private, not-for-profit and government organisations, with more than 35 years’ experience in the law, business and banking. Mr Skala is Vice Chairman, Australia of Deutsche Bank and is a member of the Foreign Investment Review Board. He served as a partner focusing on corporate, banking and commercial law in two leading Australian law firms for more than 20 years. A former Chairman of Film Australia Ltd, Hexima Ltd, Island Food Company Ltd and Wilson Group Ltd, Mr Skala is also a former Director of the ABC, the Channel Ten Group and Max Capital Group Ltd. Mr Skala currently Chairs the Heide Museum of Modern Art, is Deputy Chair of the General Sir John Monash Foundation, a Director of The Centre for Independent Studies and a Member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art NYC. Mr Skala was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2010 in recognition of his service to the arts, business and commerce and to the community.

Appointed 7 August 2017 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 12 (1)

Leeanne Bond

Ms Bond is one of Australia’s leading engineers, with more than 30 years’ experience in executive and professional company director roles. Ms Bond is Chair of Synertec Corporation and Mining3. She is also on the boards of Snowy Hydro, Aurecon Group and QADO Services. Ms Bond is an advisory board member for the University of Queensland Master of Sustainable Energy and the Australian National University Battery and Grid Integration Program. Ms Bond, who has also served on the boards of public, private and government entities, was named Australian Professional Engineer of the Year in 2007. She is a Chartered Professional Engineer, an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a member of Chief Executive Women.

Appointed 7 August 2017 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 13

Philip Coffey

Mr Coffey has extensive experience across the financial services sector, with a distinguished career in senior roles in banking, including funds management, balance sheet management and risk management. Mr Coffey is a non-executive Director of Macquarie Group Limited and Macquarie Bank Limited, and a non-executive Director of Lendlease Corporation Limited. Mr Coffey began his career at the Reserve Bank of Australia and held a number of executive positions at Westpac, including Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Westpac Banking Corporation and Chief Financial Officer and Group Executive, Westpac Institutional Bank. Mr Coffey is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

Appointed 1 February 2018 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 14

Laura Reed

Ms Reed has more than 20 years’ experience in the energy infrastructure sector, including as Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director of Spark Infrastructure. Ms Reed is also Chair of Epic Energy, which owns the Moomba to Adelaide gas transmission pipeline in South Australia, as well as a director of Canadian Utilities, ATCO Australia Pty Ltd and ATCO Gas Australia GP Pty Ltd. Ms Reed spent nine years at Envestra Limited (now known as Australian Gas Networks) in a number of senior financial roles, including Chief Financial Officer. Ms Reed holds an MBA from Deakin University and a Bachelor of Business (Accounting). She is a fellow of Certified Practising Accountants Australia.

Appointed 1 February 2018 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 15

Andrea Slattery

Mrs Slattery is a recognised leader in Australia’s financial services, superannuation, investment and retirement sectors, having led the transformational growth of the Self-Managed Super Fund sector as founder and former Managing Director/CEO of the SMSF Association. An experienced non-executive director, Mrs Slattery has served on boards and advisory committees in listed, commercial, government and not-for-profit sectors. Mrs Slattery is a non-executive director of AMP Limited, AMP Bank, including the Chair of the AMP Limited and AMP Bank Audit Committees, a non-executive director of Argo Global Listed Infrastructure (LIC) and the Deputy Chair of the Woomera (Prohibited) Area Advisory Board. Mrs Slattery was named Australian Woman of the Year in the Australian Women in Financial Services Awards in 2014.

Appointed 1 February 2018 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 16

Samantha Tough

Ms Tough has had a distinguished and varied career in the energy, resources and engineering industries as both a director and senior executive. Ms Tough is Chair of Horizon Power, Chair of the COAG National Energy Selection Panel and is a Director of Saracen Mineral Holdings Ltd. Ms Tough is also Pro Vice Chancellor of Industry Engagement with the University of Western Australia. Ms Tough was previously Chair of Retail Energy Market Company Ltd, Structerre Pty Ltd, Molopo Energy Ltd, Aerison Pty Ltd and Southern Cross Goldfields Ltd. Ms Tough has held a variety of senior executive roles at Woodside Energy, Hardman Resources, the Commonwealth Bank and the Pilbara Power Project and worked as a barrister and solicitor. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Appointed 7 August 2017 for five years.

CEFC Board 310 17

Nicola Wakefield Evans

Ms Wakefield Evans is a non-executive director of Macquarie Group Ltd, Lend Lease Corporation Ltd and the national board of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is also a member of the Takeovers Panel and on the board of the University of New South Wales Foundation and Chief Executive Women. Ms Wakefield Evans has almost 30 years’ legal experience, including as a senior partner at King & Wood Mallesons where she held a variety of part-time and full-time management positions. Ms Wakefield Evans’ key areas of industry expertise include resources and energy, infrastructure, airports, financial services, technology and media and communication.

Appointed 7 August 2017 for five years.

Back to top